eScience Director Ed Lazowska Receives David B. Thorud Leadership Award

ed-lazaowskaeScience Founding Director and Bill & Melinda Gates Chair in UW’s Computer Science and Engineering, Ed Lazowska, was awarded the University of Washington David B. Thorud Leadership Award yesterday in a ceremony honoring 2015 recipients.

“Ed has been a truly extraordinary leader for many years and in many settings – national, regional, institutional, and departmental. [His] role in creating and leading the University of Washington eScience Institute – a cross-campus collaboration that has established UW as a recognized leader in data-intensive discovery – illustrates his extraordinary performance in all of the areas identified as nomination criteria for the Thorud Award.”

The David B. Thorud Leadership Award recognizes one faculty and one staff member who demonstrate “exceptional abilities to lead, serve, inspire, and collaborate with broad impact,” and is named in honor of Thorud, who served the University of Washington in leadership positions for 25 years.

Please join us in congratulating Ed!