1. People /
  2. Leadership
group of hands coming together

The eScience Institute leadership team is guided by a small Executive Committee comprised of distinguished researchers across a variety of fields.

David Beck

eScience Director of Research
Research Associate Professor, UW Chemical Engineering

Andrew Connolly

eScience Director
Professor, UW Astronomy

Ed Lazowska

eScience Founding Director
Bill and Melinda Gates Chair of Computer Science & Engineering

Sarah Stone

eScience Executive Director
Data Science Fellow

Executive Committee

In addition to the eScience leadership team listed above, the Executive Committee also includes the following people:

Cecilia Aragon

Professor, Human Centered Design and Engineering (HCDE)

Ginger Armbrust

Director, UW School of Oceanography

Magdalena Balazinska

Director, Paul G. Allen School of Computer Science & Engineering

Bing Brunton

Associate Professor, Biology

Steve Brunton

Professor, Mechanical Engineering

Rob Fatland

Director of Cloud and Data Solutions, UW-IT

Maryam Fazel

Associate Professor, Electrical Engineering

Bill Howe

Associate Professor, Information School

Ben Marwick

Professor, Anthropology Director of the Data Science Minor

Colette Moore

Associate Professor, English

Tyler McCormick

Assistant Professor, Statistics and Sociology