High-Performance Computing

Supercomputing in Plain English: Spring 2013 Tuesdays starts Jan 22

Registration is now open! Send e-mail to hneeman [at] ou [dot] edu.

Supercomputing in Plain English (SiPE), Spring 2013
Available live in person and live via videoconferencing

Tuesdays starting Jan 22 2013, 2:00pm Central Time (4:00pm Atlantic, 3:00pm Eastern, 1:00pm Mountain, 12:00noon Pacific)

Live in person: National Weather Center 1313
Live via FREE videoconferencing: details to be announced

http://www.oscer.ou.edu/education/

AstroDB: A Long-Term Interdisciplinary Collaboration

Founded by Magda Balazinska, Jeff Gardner, and Andy Connolly, the AstroDB group at the University of Washington meets regularly to discuss basic and applied research at the intersection of computer science, eScience, and astronomy. Since inception, the group has grown to involve additional faculty from Astronomy and eScience.

Computing with Hyak: The Power of Sharing

Hyak, the University of Washington's high-performance computing facility, is featured in the most recent issue of Perspectives, the newsletter of the College of Arts and Sciences.



Read the full story here.

UW Scientists Featured in ASCR article

Scientists from the UW Institute for Nuclear Theory are highlighted in a recent online article about university research by the Office of Advanced Scientific Computing Research (ASCR) in the Department of Energy Office of Science.

Predicting the Subatomic Future

Predicting the Subatomic Future
Lattice QCD on Hyak
Martin Savage, Professor of Physics, UW

In a relevant and timely profile, physics professor Martin Savage talks about his work with Lattice Quantum Chromodynamics, which:

  • Was awarded $750,000 by the NSF for computing equipment
  • Runs on Hyak in preparation for peta- and exascale computing
  • Operates at a time-space scale of femtoseconds and femtometers

Savage's work aims to "get [us] to the stage where [we] can calculate reliably anything of  importance in nuclear systems..."

Learn how eScience is helping UW faculty model nuclear reactions.

 

Jim Pfaendtner: Not Getting Lost in Translation

 

Not Getting Lost in Translation
Facilitating Multi-scale Modeling on Hyak
Jim Pfaendtner, Chemical Engineering 

 


Recruitment via Hyak

Jim Pfaendtner, Assistant Professor of Chemical Engineering, didn't want to have to build his own computer system in order to do research.

David Beck: From 30 Years to a Matter of Weeks

 

From 30 Years to a Matter of Weeks
Running proteomic and transcriptomic queries on Hyak
David Beck, eScientist, Bioinformaticist, Chemical Engineer 


 

Campus Compute & Storage

 

UW-IT operates powerful resources for scalable scientific computing.  These include Hyak (a scalable cluster computer), and lolo (a file-based storage service).  These systems are situated at the hub of a high-speed networking connecting them to campus and the research Internet.  

These systems were developed with support from the eScience Institute.  UW-IT and eScience maintain close ties at UW.


Description of Services:

Hyak Operating Costs and Comparison with Commercial Alternatives

Note: the exact prices in this document are not necessarily up to date for either Hyak or AWS; this document represents a snapshot in time of an ongoing analysis.

Overview

Which Compute Platform Should I Use?

Overview

The UW eScience Institute is available to provide guidance in matching your computational workload to the best available platform. This document provides an overview of the platform landscape, including high-level guidance to help your selection. If you would like additional guidance, we are available for follow up consultation via email or in person.

Syndicate content